I was sent this email from one of my recent converts in Bothell named Denise Pelton.  She is an amazing woman and I miss her so much.  Denise bore her testimony for the first time yesterday in Bothell and she sent me her testimony that she bore.  I hope you can feel the Spirit and have it mean as much as it does to me, to you!  Here it is,

 

 

 

Good Morning my name is Sister Denise Pelton. Those of you who have heard my testimony before I hope you do not mind hearing it again and for those of you who are hearing this for the first time I hope you find it as special as I do.

First you need some back ground information.  I moved to Washington two in half years ago for my job.  I was unemployed for two years in San Diego with 23 years Dental Administration experience and could not get a job.  One day I was talking to my sister Helene whom I met only one year earlier. She said they are hiring like crazy at my work you should apply.  I said really I will check out the website and let you know. I checked out the website loved what I saw, I said Lord I really want this job please make it happen for me.  I don’t know how, I have no money, I have no experience but I want this job.  I got the job and literally changed my life in 10 days’ time.   It was an incredible experience.  The Lord is an awesome God.  I loved my new job and things were going very well.

I accepted the Lord as my personal savior and was baptized in a non-denominational church when I was 16 years old.  I am a firm believer in three things, the Lord is my constant companion, in the power of prayer and who we are makes a difference.

For the last 6 months or so my job had not been going well.  I was under a huge amount of pressure; people were getting fired or quitting left and right.  I was working 60 hours a week.  My boss kept coming to me saying Denise you need to do more.   The company felt really unstable.  One Saturday I got up to go to work and I just could not go.  I was exhausted.  I decided the only thing I could do for work that day was to pray.

I do not pray as formerly as most of you,  I was sitting in my wheelchair in the living room I started to cry I said Lord I need your help, there is no more I can do, I am tired, I am frustrated and everything I do is not helping.  The more I do the more Kimberly wants, the more hours I work the more work that needs to be done.  I cannot go into work and be positive today, I just can’t do it.  I am not positive. You need to make someone else step up to the plate I cannot do anymore then I am already doing.  I said Lord I lift Kimberly, Greg and my co-workers up to you. I ask that they know you Lord and feel your presents.  Lord I ask for things to change please.  

Lord even though I pray to you and ask for these things in the name of Jesus I still feel this is not enough. I became more intense and crying even more. I said Lord you know this really isn’t fair I do not even have any one to pray with me. We both know there is power in prayer and physically there is no one here to pray with me.    I am alone.  Can you please, just bring people to pray with me.?  I know this will make a difference.  Please.

I say these things in the name of Jesus Amen.

30 minutes later I decide to go to the grocery store, I am riding my scooter in the bike lane to the Safeway.  Soon come two missionaries on their bikes from the opposite direction, Elder Holman and Elder Ford.  They say hello and ask me, is there anything we can do for you? I immediately say thank you but no. which, is my normal response when anyone asks if they can help me.  In seconds I say to myself Denise what are you doing? You just asked the Lord for people to pray with you and here they are! 

I said wait!  There is something you can do for me, can we please pray? They smiled and said yes.  I explained I wanted to pray for my boss, that she would start making good choices, the people I worked with and that no one else would be fired from their job.

I asked can we please hold hands. I hold hands with people when I pray.  They said yes, we held hands; Elder Ford prayed.  Remember we were in the bike lane with all the traffic going by! I immediately felt so good and I just knew things would be okay now. 

Sometime later Elder Ford and now Elder Mitchell came to my door.  They said how is it going, is there anything we can do for you? I burst into tears as I had been fired on November 12th and my sister two days later.  They asked me if I would mind meeting with another member of the church they explained they had rules and could not come in my home because I live alone.  I said yes I would like that. I met Brother Weaver, Elder Ford and Elder Mitchell at the church.  They began teaching me about the church, the book of Mormon and Joseph Smith.  I started coming Sunday’s as well as meeting with them learning about what is to be a Mormon.  Elder Ford left two weeks later and then I met Elder Rasmussen to continue my journey of getting to know the church.  I was baptized December 14, 2013.

I did not know that day on the street how much my life would be changed by asking the Lord for people to pray with me.

Not only do I have people to pray with me any time I need I have so much more I have all of you!   I now have home teachers that come, I have a calling,  I truly belong to a church. There has been endless rides love and support from everyone.  From the first Sunday I visited the church I felt a sense of belonging and family, my wish is if we have any visitors today that you will feel the same.

The Elders are remarkable young men and I will be forever thankful and great full to Brother Weaver, Elder’s Holman, Ford, Mitchell and Rasmussen for helping me make my decision and becoming a member of this church.

I am here to testify that I know the book of Mormon to be true and I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ.

Thank you for allowing me to share my testimony with you today.

 

 

What wonderful words from Denise Pelton, my sister and my friend.  I was so blessed to be led to her with my companions and I lover her dearly!  The work of the Lord is awesome! I love you! XOXO

 

-Elder Ford

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

